Fashion

One Night Stand πŸ™ˆπŸ’œ

Models Own have taken the Nail polish market by storm by being one of the first companies to release a mirror chrome effect nail polish that doesn’t require a gel lamp or pigment powders 😍. 

When I first saw the release for this I was so excited as the nail swatches looked amazing and so unreal. The kit retails at Β£14.99 and you can expect to receive a all in one top/base coat and the polish to create the mirror effect.

When using the polish it’s important to apply both thinly as you won’t get the desired effect otherwise and it’s also vital to make sure the base/top coat is completely dry before applying the silver polish. 

As you can see the silver polish is so pigmented and I was super excited to get this on my nails ASAP 😍

After allowing the base/top to completely dry I then applied the silver polish which I found to be quite difficult as with the brush  I wasn’t able to quite fully cover my nails without over applying the polish.

* By over applying the silver polish you will end up losing the mirror effect so it important to try and get your nails covered in a few swipes *

Here are my results:

As you can see I only managed to get a few nails that turned out decent. I’m going to be completely honest and say I don’t like this polish as when I applied the top coat it made me lose some of the mirror effect. 

Also I was a bit disappointed when I read that the polish only lasts for six hours and then it begins to fade/chip. I found my polish didn’t even last two hours before it started to go all horrible and it was so hard to remove πŸ™ˆπŸ˜©.

Overall I think if you manage to apply this polish correctly you will get the desired effect but for me personally I would be much happier if the polish would stay pn longer unless you intentionally want a quick fix for a night out or event. 

                                 Seldane 

6 thoughts on “One Night Stand πŸ™ˆπŸ’œ

  1. I bought this product with much excitement too, and I was so disappointed.
    Firstly, I did not realise it was only supposed to last for 6 hours, (although I should have guessed by the name I suppose!) but like you said the mirror effect it only lasted until I washed my hands for the first time! Very annoying after it had taken ages to apply, after leaving the required drying time between each application.
    Secondly, how did you get it off your nails? The left over dull, grey colour (which is what remains after the mirror shine wears off) has been on my nails for nearly a week and I have had to paint other nail varnish over it as I just cannot get it off, and it is showing through the other colour 😦
    So basically, takes ages to apply, lasts no time and then you cannot get the remnants off. Total waste of money.
    Any advice on removing it is greatly appreciated, its on my toes too!! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad it’s not just me who feels the same about this product! I feel like it was all too rushed and Models Own should’ve spent more time on the formula. The only way I managed to remove to polish (as yes it does leave a gross grey colour underneath new polish) was to apply nail polish remover on a pad and then cover it in foil for ten minutes. So basically remove it like how you’d remove gel polish. I also found the nail polish really damaged my nails too 😦

      Like

  2. Oh no I was really looking forward to buying this! I might think twice now – Β£15 seems to be a lot of money for a few hours worth of wear – I’m so glad I read this review before buying! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

